Image of a house linking to home page
Image of a shopping basket linking to online craft beer shop

Gluten Free Craft Beer

We don't advertise the Gluten Free craft beer we stock as GF unless it is clearly labelled as 'Gluten Free' on the bottle/can. We know some breweries say they brew to a Gluten Free recipe but as it hasn't been certified we don't advertise those beers as GF.

A can of gluten free craft beer with GF displayed on the label

There are currently two ways to create Gluten Free beer.

The first is to use a malt from naturally Gluten Free cereals or pseudocereals such as sorghum, millet, buckwheat, rice, quinoa or maize. These beers often have slightly different aromas and flavours to regular beer.

The second method is to produce a craft beer in the usual way using malt from wheat, barley or rye and then introduce a process to reduce the Gluten content so that it complies with the Law and contains 20 ppm or less of Gluten. One way of doing this is to use an enzyme at the start of the fermentation process to break down the Gluten protein.

Brewers Clarex is an enzyme that is added during the brewing process which degrades the Gluten to levels below the 20 ppm threshold so it can be labelled Gluten Free. As this type of beer has been made from malt containing Gluten, by Law the labelling must also state e.g. 'contains barley'. This allows people to identify Gluten Free beers made from wheat, barley or rye from Gluten Free beers made from naturally Gluten Free cereals or pseudocereals.
Map pin icon
Yorkshire Craft Beers
Queens Mill
Aire Street
West Yorkshire
WF10 1JL
Clock face icon
Monday 10am - 4pm
Tuesday 10am - 4pm
Wednesday 10am - 4pm
Thursday 10am - 7pm
Friday 10am - 8pm
Saturday 10am - 8pm
Sunday 12pm - 4pm
Speech bubble icon
07894 913868

Facebook logo Instagram logo Twitter logo Untappd logo
Scroll to top of page